Home > Esmé, General Chatter > (L)Only Children

(L)Only Children

I found this image by searching for 'only child' in Google ImageThe responses from my previous post was pleasantly surprsing. Even Dr. Newman made a surprise appearance in the comments section. Although this is a normal occurrence at League HQ, this is the first time that someone who I name dropped in a blog post actually found the corresponding post and replied to it. So yeah, that was pretty cool.

 

What I forgot to mention in that previous post is that there seems to be an implied belief that only children are not well-adjusted. As I am an only child and do not consider myself well-adjusted, I always thought this to be true for all only children. And the main thing that drives me as a father – something that I think about every day and every time I think about Esmé – is that she turns out as well-adjusted as possible. So this notion that a lack of brothers or sisters will adversly affect [effect?] her concerms me greatly. Nevertheless, Emily and I are friend with several only children who turned out perfectly okay. So, there’s hope for Esmé yet.

 

Of course, I always figured that when Esmé gets older – around six or seven – Emily would miss having a baby around the house and start clamoring for another child.  However, Emily assures me that will not be the case.

 

 

Categories: Esmé, General Chatter
  1. March 13, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I think Esme will not lack for companionship under you and M’s watchful eye.

    I’m not going to say “don’t worry”, because that’s sort of your job as her dad. But you two will most certainly not see a lonely kid. But just to be sure, keep owning cats. When my brother left for school, I spent a lot of time with my dog.

    • Digital Boy
      March 13, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Did you just say that Jason is easily replacable with a dog?

  2. March 14, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I assure you, this would come as no surprise to him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

