Home > 1-Minute Reviews, Weekend Update > The Watchmen and Sleeping Weekend

The Watchmen and Sleeping Weekend

I had a followup sleep study last night. This time, they had me sleeping with a mask. The nurse told me I slept well, but continued to snore, which surprised me. I’m still not sold on the mask. It was a bit awkward sleeping with it, and I don’t feel any different today. We have a huge king bed, and I toss and turn when I sleep. As such, I am worried that either the mask would fall off, or that I won’t be able to strecth across the bed and cuddle up to Emily during the night [saccharine, ain’t it?]. The medical equipment is supposed to call me soon to setup everything. We’ll see. 

 

Friday night I watched Watchmen. I think your opinion on the movie depends if you’ve read the original source material. The movie does stay faithful to the plot, but it is missing the rich subtext of the book. I am forgiving on this point, as no book can be translated to the screen without losing some of the intangible qualities that only a book can deliver. However, I do recommend to anyone who hasn’t read the book but have seen the movie to read the book. Or, read the book before watching the movie. Really, to fully enjoy the movie, you have to separate it from the book. I think this is true for any movie adaptation of a printed work. You’re always going to be dissapointed at the cinematic product. As to the argument that Watchmen should have neve been adapted, well .. that’s a bit unreasonable to ask from a multi-billion, multinational corporation like Warner Brothers. The biggest controversy from the movie is that Zack Synder removed the interdimensional, telephatic squid from the ending. [Uh, spoiler alert]? I wanted to see the squid as much as the next fanboy, but it made sense to remove it from a filmmaking perspective. First, it eliminated the sub-plot about the creators of the squid, and it didn’t change the ending at all: Ozymandias’s achieved his goal, Manhattan exiled himself, and Rorschach was killed. It is too bad there won’t be a version of the movie with the squid. I hear there will be an Extended Director’s Cut that will include scenes from Tales of the Black Freighter, however. Bottom line: Watchmen is a fun, popcorn-brain-candy film. Don’t take it too seriously, and you’ll be allright.

  1. March 9, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    This is probably the best, most honest, review I’ve read anywhere. I’m being totally sincere. It’s also the only review that’s made me mildly curious to see the movie.

    I still am not sure how removing the squid works with the rest of the story… but I’ll go and watch it and see.

    • Digital Boy
      March 9, 2009 at 9:10 pm

      Oh, League. You make me blush.

  2. JMD
    March 11, 2009 at 4:53 am

    I too saw it Friday. It had its moments, but it was mediocre, at best. Rather than having the grit and realism of say, “The Dark Knight,” this film had too much of a over-choreographed, sound stage feel to it. That is inconsistent with the tone of the graphic novel. I think the source material would have been better served had it been adapted into a 10 or 12 part HBO series.

    • Digital Boy
      March 11, 2009 at 8:30 am

      I think that some people hold the book in such reverence that regardless of who made the file or how it is made, they would never be satisfied. It’s unfortunate, really, because those people can’t see the fun in the film.

      • JMD
        March 11, 2009 at 8:53 am

        Sure, but a movie can have flaws separate and apart from issues dealing with the source material. Plus, Snyder used the graphic novel as a storyboard for much of the film, so it was obvious that he was attempting to tie himself to the source material as closely as possible. I just think that he made some poor aesthetic decisions, including many that have little to to do with the graphic novel, including the direction of action sequences, the unnecessary slow motion, and the lack of realism in the set design.

  3. March 15, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Rorschach was an especially well developed as a character; i hope the actor that played his role is nominated for some kind of an award (when that season comes around again)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

