Home > General Chatter > Blogging About Blogging

Blogging About Blogging

Over the holiday break, I mulled over this whole blogging thing. It’s been a nice little run, and I can’t say that it stopped being enjoyable, despite my decision in 2007 to blog daily, which led to a certain amount of burnout. So back in the early part of 2008, I cut back to posting only three times a week [Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays.  I bet you never noticed], mirroring the publishing schedule of XKCD. [If it’s good enough for Randall Munroe …]. The three-day schedule works out well in that I consistently have something new on the blog, even it if it is prosaic, silly, or just plain dumb. Nonetheless, a lot of times it still feels like a chore. What I should do is only blog when the mood strikes me, but then I fear that I would never blog. Or blog so rarely that I might as well not have a blog.

 

The biggest issue I have with this blogging thing is time. It takes at least an hour for me to write a substantial post [this includes editing, formatting, research, etc], and any post that goes into any sort of depth becomes an all-evening project, and I don’t want to spend that much time writing a blog post . What irritates me most is that many times I come up with a great blog topic on the way to or from work, only to completely blank out when I finally sit-down to write it or decide that it is too late in the night to write it on digital paper. I  guess the point of all this is that I’m too lazy to blog meaningfully, and it makes me wonder if I shouldn’t stop blogging completely. And that leads to the question, what’s the point of my blogging anyway?

 

I dunno.

 

And isn’t there something clichéd with blogging about blogging?

 

On a completely different topic, Apple didn’t annouce a 32GB iPhone today at the MacWorld, which is something to which I was looking forward. My Verizon contract ends in June, and I’ve vowed – much to Emily’s chagrin – to get an iPhone, despite our current cash crunch. A 32GB iPhone would be nice by then.

 

Apple did release a new “unibody” 17-inch MacBook Pro that makes me drool, despite the lack of a removable battery [youch!]. Sure, it’s extremely pricey at $2800 [add an extra $50 for the anti-glare option], but the specs are niiiiiiiice.

 

 Check out Endgadget’s gallery for more delicious photos.

 

 

 

  • 1920 x 1200 LED-backlit display
  • 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 6MB L2 cache
  • 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 memory
  • Nvidia GeForce 9400M
  • Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT / 512MB
  • 320GB hard drive
  • Slot-loading SuperDrive
Categories: General Chatter
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

