Home > Esmé, General Chatter, Video Madness > The Winter Holiday Recap

The Winter Holiday Recap

I forgot what a chore blogging could be sometimes. 

 

Christmas
We spent Christmas week at my in-law’s Country Manor, where I slept 15-hours a day. We did manage to see The Day the Earth Stood Still. We were going to watch The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, but I opted to sleep some more instead. We didn’t lavish each other with gifts this year. I bought Emily Family Guy Vol. 6 and she gave me a nice pair of Sennheiser headphones. I also got a lot of jerky as stocking stuffers. I love me some jerky. Esmé received a bunch of new toys, but we didn’t get her the one thing she really needed, which is a toy chest. The most awesomest gift she got was Pizza Elmo (see the video below, which has the id “7Cf7DcaFuck”). Esmé also received a babydoll from her grandmother.

 

Esme and Her Babydoll

 

Esmé got sick over the holiday – she’s had the sniffles for about three months and it finally came to a head. We visited the doctor, and she is now on antibiotics and feeling much better. Emily also got sick and felt miserable for a few days. I managed to avoid whatever it was. I think all that sleeping helped.

 

It was a quiet Christmas, really.

 

New Year’s
Uh … Emily was sick so she slept early, and I stayed up surfing the web. Yeah, we’re an exciting couple. I didn’t make any resolutions for the new year. Come to think of it, I am not sure I made any for the previous year. The days just sort of run together for me. One day, I shall get my joie de vivre back.

 

Melbotis R.I.P.
Most of the folks who read this blog also read The League of Melbotis, so you already know that Mel passed away over New Year’s. My heart goes out to Ryan and Jamie. Their love for Mel knew no bounds, and I can’t imagine what a difficult time they are both going through right now. I am sad not only at Melbotis’s passing, but also  that I never had the pleasure of meeting him. I know that I would have loved him immediately.

 

 

 

 

The End
All in all, it was a nice holiday. I got to relax and recharge my batteries, as they say. And I spent a lot of quality time with Esmé, which is priceless. I have no idea how she got to be so rambunctious, but she is pretty frakking awesome.  And since I spent so much time with Esmé, I watched a lot of Blue’s Clues and Bear in the Big Blue House. I now find myself humming the “Goodbye Song” and “Oh Where is Shadow” when I go about my day. On a positive note, I no longer hum Blue’s Clues songs.

 

I probably forgot one or two things that happened over the break which I wanted to mention. But it’s getting late, and I need to get to sleep. Stupid work.

 

Videos

 


 

 


 

 

  1. January 5, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Thanks so much. Melbotis knows he would have loved you, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

