Home > Now Playing > New Music Wednesday

New Music Wednesday

December 10, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

The past three months have seen a bounty of new music added to my iPod [what I consider a bounty anyway]. It started with Metallica’s Death Magnetic and Jem’s Down to Earth released in September and Jenny Lewis’s Acid Tongue in October and Dido’s Safe Trip Home and GNR’s Chinese Democracy in early November. I also added The Watson Twins’s Fire Songs, Neutral Milk Hotel’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, and David Sedaris’s new book When You Are Engulfed in Flames. I only added Neutral Milk Hotel because I kept reading about the greatness of the album from the Pitchfork Media crowd. I even read an article where it was named the best indie album of the past 25-years. So I asked my hipster co-workers about it, and he immediately declared it “one of my favorite albums EVAR” and promptly sent me a copy [the joys of a gigabit network].  I’ve only listened to half-the album, but I haven’t been that impressed so far. But what do I know?

 

I considered writing a mini-review about these albums, but I am not feeling well, it is getting late, and I have to wake-up early tomorrow. I will note that Dido added a new song theme to her collection – “My dad died, and it makes me sad”. This joins her other themes: “We broke-up, and it makes me sad”, “Our relationship is in trouble, and it makes me sad”, “I am unhappy in this relationship, and it makes me sad”, “You are cheating on me/I am cheating on you, and it makes me sad”.

 

Here are some videos from each album.  You can be the judge of their quality. And yes, some of these I’ve posted before.

 

 

 

There used to be a video of Jenny Lewis performing “Acid Tounge” on Conan O’Brien here, but there’s nary a clip of it anywhere on the interwebs any longer.

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

 

 

Categories: Now Playing
  1. December 10, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Javascript snowflakes make me sad.

  2. Digital Boy
    December 10, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Yeah, WordPress.com enables them by default. I could disable it, but I like the snowflakes. I especially like how it gathers at the bottom of the window. Fancy!

  3. December 10, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I took a spin through your collection:

    I thought Jenny Lewis sounded great, it’s hard to believe that was live. Jem similarly sounded good. In short the females sounded excellent.

    I thought the Metallica sucked up to the last 2 minutes. It opened really weak, especially for a song that closed really strong.

    Dido’s records really don’t match the strength of the singles, but I didn’t think this one was particularly catchy.

    Ah, and what of the GnR. The industry and yours truly wanted it to bring back the rock genre, but it really doesn’t sound too far off from what Velvet Revolver does ( except I like the GnR vocals better than the Weiland thing, but he’s definitely working in the Axl mold anyway ).

    Thanks for sharing, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

