Home > Weekend Update > Thanksgiving Holiday Recap

Thanksgiving Holiday Recap

December 1, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Oh, where to begin? My vacation seemed short. And the early part was very hectic, with Emily laid-up after her surgery, her parents swooping into town for an assist, then my mom coming into town, and me having to work despite being on vacation. I worked at least an a couple of hours a day, cumulating with an all-morning conference call on Wednesday. Serious fun. I did not help matters by deciding to do a clean install of Vista during all this commotion. It took several tries to work out all the kinks with vLite [apparently, if you remove the networking portion of Windows, you can’t connect to the Internet. Who knew?] but I manged to get a nice, fresh, squeaky clean install of Vista, and solved several issues I had due to a bad memory module when I first purchased the laptop.

 

Things settled down a bit during the later part of the week, however. My dad flew in on Thursday, and we enjoyed a nice home-cooked Thanksgiving meal courtesy of my mom [who was Super Grandma this week, as she took care of Esmé, cooked, cleaned, and looked after my dad]. I mostly hid in my office during this time and slept until noon on most days. I also managed to catch a showing of Role Models, and watched Get Smart, and The Happening. I have another weeklong vacation scheduled for Christmas week. I’m hoping that one is less hectic.

 

I honestly don’t remember what else I wanted to write about. I’m trying to quickly finish my list of to-dos for the night so I can make it to bed at a decent hour, since I plan on arriving at work early and sorting out the mess. I have a whole post about Chinese Democracy, but I don’t know if I’ll get to write it.

 

Anywho …

 

Here are some photos my mom took during her visit. My parents bought Esmé that shiny new bike, even though she isn’t really old enough for it. I actually had a tricycle picked out for her, but I suppose it was not meant to be.

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Categories: Weekend Update
  1. December 1, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Sorry to hear your vacation wasn’t as restful as it could have been. Hope M is recovering quickly.

    Christmas will be here before you know it and maybe you can relax a bit more then.

  2. Ned Beatty
    December 2, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    your mom’s a hottie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

