Home > General Chatter > Anniversary

Anniversary

November 14, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

So yesterday was our fifth wedding anniversary. It sorta’ just crept up on us. We’ve been very busy lately, what with Emily trying to get her photography business of the ground, and me busy at work. And of course, there’s our own version of the Tazmanian Devil with whom we have to keep up. As such, there was no big celebration. Emily had an early morning appointment with an orthopedist about her knee, and then was sent to another place for an MRI. The intial diagnosis is a meniscus tear in her right left knee. We have to wait for the MRI results to confirm this, but more than likely she’ll have to undergo a procedure to take care of it. I did end up taking the day off from work, but it was so I could watch over Esmé. And when Emily finally went home, I decided to take the rest of the day. I will pay for this today.

 

But back to the anniversary. Five years of marriage and 11 total years together. It blows my mind every time I think about it. I couldn’t imagine my life without Emily, and that’s not a cliché. After 11-years together, that person becomes a part of you in every sense of the word. And this past year has reinforced my admiration and love for Emily. She is an incredible, loving, and patient mother. Almost single-handedly, she’s raised a beautiful happy child and managed to start a business. And to top it all off, she’s had to deal with me too, and that was not an easy task to begin with. I don’t always show my love and appreciation in a manner that Emily prefers, but I hope she always knows that I would be half the person I am today without her. And raisinng Esmé together has been an incredible experience. I can’t wait for the next five years.

 

UPDATE: Okay. I am a terrible, terrible, and unattentive husband. It is actually four years of marriage [as Emily kindly notes in the comments]. For some reason, I had five on the brain. I don’t know why. I blame the lateness of the hour. I promise it’s not because I have been secretly married to another woman. Really.

Categories: General Chatter
  1. Wifey
    November 14, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Uhhhhh. I should inform everyone that we’ve only actually been married 4 years. So, yeah. I’m not sure who he’s been married to for 5 years. Well, I have some ideas.

  2. Wifey
    November 14, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Oh! I should mention also that it’s my left knee that’s having the problem not the right.

    I love you too!

  3. Ned Beatty
    November 15, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    What else can he get wrong???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

