Home > 1-Minute Reviews, Weekend Update > The Brain Mush Weekend

The Brain Mush Weekend

We’re not going to talk about the GRE. Let’s just say that I’m not super proud of my score, and somewhere in the second hour of the test my brain turned to mush. Hopefully, the score will be good enough to get me into the program.

 

After the test, Emily, Esmé, and I headed off to the Country Manor for a visit with the in-laws. It was a nice getaway as it allowed my brain to recover, and allowed Emily and I to get some extra help with Esmé.  It’s weekends like these that make me wish Emily and I had our parents living nearby. The only downside of visiting the in-laws [or going anywhere for that matter] is that Esmé gets out of her routine, and she doesn’t handle that very well sometimes, especially when it comes to her bedtime. It’s one of those things where the so-called “experts” say that babies [and young children] need to follow a routine and schedule and that it’s good for them. But then they don’t tell you how to handle the occasional break from that routine and schedule.

 

Other than that, we didn’t do much else the past weekend except watch a lot of movies. Emily and I saw Step Brothers. It is a funny movie, but also typical of a Will Ferrell movie.  We also watched Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay. That movie’s portrayal of the Department of Homeland Security pretty much sums up how I think it’s run. And Neil Patrick Harris is hilarious in it. I also finally got around to watching Rambo 4… and yeah. It didn’t make a lot of sense, and there was a lot of gratuitous beheadings and disembowelments. And finally, I watched My Blueberry Nights. The movie mostly just made me sad, and I kept wondering why Wong Kar Wai  was so insistent on casting Norah Jones in the lead. She was decent, I suppose, but I’m no film critic.  The film didn’t get very good reviews upon its release, but I think that’s mostly because it’s a Wong Kar Wai film, and the expectations were most likely a bit outsized. If you plan on watching the film, don’t come into it expecting Days of Being Wild or In the Mood for Love. The biggest thing I got from My Blueberry Nights is that Norah Jones recently cut her hair. What’s up with that?

 

 

That’s all there is to say, I guess. Emily and Esmé are staying an extra day with her parents, so I’m flying solo until Tuesday. Here’s hoping the crushing loneliness won’t kill me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

