Home > Weekend Update > The Sad Weekend + A Short Hiatus

The Sad Weekend + A Short Hiatus

Foremost, I want to let you – all three of you who read this blog – that I am not going to blog for the rest of the week. This is due to my ill-prepardness for the [math portion of the] GRE, which I am scheduled to take on Friday. Although I do not blog often or in much depth, it still takes time to figure out what to post and then write about it. I can’t – in good conscience – spend any time blogging when I should be studying. It’s going to be hard enough working and then coming home to study. As such, regular blog posts will commence next Monday [or Friday after the test at the earliest].

 

Now to the crappy part.

 

On Saturday, we put down our other cat Carolyn.

 

Carolyn

It all started  on Friday afternoon when Carolyn suddenly started limping – unable to use her back legs and crying out in pain. I immediately took her to the pet emergency center, thinking that maybe she had hurt her leg. However, the diagnosis was that Carolyn suffered from “saddle thrombosis”, which is basically a blod clot to the lower portion of her body. On top of that, Carolyn also suffered from heart disease [which caused the blod clot in the first place]. The emergency vet told us [with Emily joining us via phone] that Carolyn was only going to get worse, and that with aggressive treatment, she would only live for another 3-6 months. Emily and I decided to keep her at the emergency vet overnight [doped up on morphine] so that we could take her to our regular vet the next day. As you can guess, our regular vet reached the same prognosis. We could have kept Carolyn alive with a lot of medication, but decided that her quality of life wouldn’t be very good. So, that was that.

 

I’m not going to go much into Carolyn’s story right now – maybe in a later post – but I will say that Emily and I adopted her when she was only 3-months-old, and I spent the majority of my adult life with her. I will pass on this little tidbit about Carolyn – even in excruciating pain and her body pumped with morphine, she still gave the staff at the clinic a difficult time. As the emergency vet told me, “she’s feisty”. To the very end.

Categories: Weekend Update
  1. July 28, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Emily told me about Caroline yesterday. I’m so sorry. You guys have had a rough month. *hugs*

  2. July 28, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    I am so, so sorry to hear about Carolyn.

  3. Kristi
    July 28, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    So sorry about Carolyn.

    …and best of luck on the GRE.

  4. July 29, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Allow me to comment in GRE Quantitative form:

    Amount of empathy for lost KittyUnderstood fear of GRE Quant or “What am I doing not studying” guilt

    Answer: C: These quantities are equal

    Good luck, and see you on the other side of Friday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

