Home > 1-Minute Reviews > Batreview

Batreview

I’m going to keep this as short as possible because 1) there’s only maybe three people in the world who hasn’t seen the movie and 2) do you really care about what I think? I’m also going to keep this as spoiler free as possible, but you read at your own risk.

 

The Dark Knight is a good movie, but I wonder if the hype isn’t clouding some people’s minds. Again, its a good movie, but so was Iron Man. Is it Empire good? Well, we’ll see in 20 or so years. I also wonder how much money Heath Ledger’s death contributed to TDK’s box-office take. [Was that cynical or what? You know what’s even more cynical? This next statement: Ledger’s death was the best thing to happen to TDK]. Speaking of the dearly departed, Ledger does an excellent job as the Joker. It’s going to be twenty more years before another Joker can be put in a Batman movie. But is it an Oscar worthy performance? I don’t know. The Oscars are weird. I didn’t think Rachel Weisz deserved an Oscar for The Constant Gardener, but the Academy gave her one anyway, as I apparently missed something in her performance.

 

It is dissapointing that there can’t be any more Bale/Batman vs. Ledger/Joker movies. I think there is so much movie potential with Batman and Joker, especially with how Bale/Ledger/Nolan pulled it off. That being said, I don’t know how I feel about Two Face being the antagonist in the third installment. I would love to see Black Mask in the third movie, continuing with the Gotham mobsters-and-the-psychos-who-lead-them theme. But I guess there’s plenty of plot points left from The Long Halloween and Dark Victory books that Nolan and Nolan left out of TDK. [Jim Lee should demand co-writing credits or at least a cut of the gross or something].

 

Oh, and the one thing I really disliked about the movie: Bale’s voice when Batman. What’s with the growling? Does Batman smoke too much? Is he suffering from emphysema?

Categories: 1-Minute Reviews
  1. July 21, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Great post, Randy, but I wouldn’t describe it as “spoiler free”.

    We’re never going to know if Ledger’s death was what drew so much attention to the movie, but I sincerely doubt it kept anyone away.

    And I totally agree… we won’t know anything, really, for at least ten years as to how much people actually like this film. First weekend reporting has absolutely nothing to do with staying power of a movie.

  2. July 21, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    The Batman voice–masque rasp wore a bit thin this outing.

    This goes to show the actual speaking time of Batman went up considerably in this outing, as I heard this complaint rarely during the first edition’s release.

    Nevertheless, I consider it a worthy consideration of “Hm, did you notice that Clark Kent, when his glasses are off bears a rather strong resemblance to Superman?”

  3. Mr. CSS
    July 21, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    21stDB:

    I didn’t see an email address contact, but…

    #pagetab .rtab

    #pagetab .ltab

    If height is 130px render a smooth curved in Safari and FF3. I know you may be fixing IE damage there, tho.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

