Home > Comics, General Chatter > What Happened to Everybody?

What Happened to Everybody?

So for the past couple of months, I’ve noticed that the traffic to this blog steadily rose to about 100 unique [to the WordPress stats engine] visitors a day. For a few weeks, it hovered between 100-110 visitors a day [It peaked at 122 visitors on April 25]. And April was the best month ever in terms of traffic with 2,520 visits. Before this spike, the blog was averaging about 50 visits per day. I do not know what caused the spike in traffic, but, you know, cool for me.

However, starting on May 1, there was a dramatic drop in traffic. It literally went from 94 visitors on April 30 to 43 on May 1, and its been slowly going downhill. This blog has barely registered 30 visitors in the past week-and-a-half. It broke 40 only once since May 1, and hit a low of 22 on May 3. Now, I’m not here to bemoan my lack of traffic, but I just find it curious that my traffic would spike suddenly then precipitously fall over the course of a day. I guess I’d just like to know what’s causing these spikes. It’s not that I had a post on Digg or some other popular websites [The referrers would have indicated that. And speaking of referrers, the number one referrer to this blog are our friends at Evening Melancholy, with 541. Thanks, guys!]. It just all seems so random. The only two things that changed in the corresponding time is the new blog theme, but I don’t know why that would affect my traffic. The other is the new WordPress search engine, which might not be indexing this blog properly.

 
Who knows?

 
Anyway, that’s my boring post for today. Nothing else exciting is going on. To add some color to this post, here is the second most popular Digg Image in the past 30 days. The most popular Digg Image is the one I posted on Monday.

 
Donald Duck Is a Jerk

Categories: Comics, General Chatter
  1. Natalie
    May 7, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I read you through Bloglines unless I’m commenting. It’s possible that more people are using feedreaders now. Maybe?

  2. Emily
    May 9, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I’m also now using Google Reader to view your blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

