Home > General Chatter > Twitter This

Twitter This

Some of you may have heard of Twitter. It is one of those fancy “web-2-oh” companies that [apparently] is a hit with the kids today. According to its website:

 

Twitter is a service for friends, family, and co–workers to communicate and stay connected through the exchange of quick, frequent answers to one simple question: What are you doing?

 

Honestly, I don’t know why I would want to know what someone is doing every minute of the day. OK, maybe Esmé when she hits her teen years. But besides that, I don’t really care. Of course, not many people agree with me. I have an acquaintance who created a website dedicated solely to his “twitters”. I guess there are people who really cares about his minute-to-minute activities.

 

Although I am not a member of Twitter, I am a member of Pownce, which is a Twitter clone. I joined not realizing it was a Twitter clone. Regardless, I have a Pownce “friend” who incessantly “twittered” [or is it “pownced”?] during his Mexican vacation. Because I really wanted to know he was “drinking and hanging out by the pool” when I was stuck at work. Nor did I care when he was attempting to hook up his home theater system last weekend. Or when he stopped and drank some beer with his buddy who dropped by.

 

Maybe I’m old. Or maybe I’m just stuck in “web 1.0”, but I do not understand this fascination with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, etc. I do have a MySpace account, but I rarely use it. I use Facebook even less. Maybe I don’t have enough friends. I don’t know.

 

I will say this, however. All these communication tools makes stalking much, much easier. You don’t even have to try anymore, as illustrated by the XKCD comic below.

 
Here, I'll put my number in your cell pho -- wait, why is it already here?

 

 
 

 

And finally, one last reason to not “twitter”

 

 

 
Some People Should Not Use Twitter

 

 

 
 

 

 

CollegeHumor.com parodied Twitter recently with “Clitter” [possibly NSFW].

Categories: General Chatter
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

