Home > Site Maintenance > New Domain

New Domain

February 22, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

When I first started this blog I didn’t know how long it would last. Well, I am now in my third year of blogging so I decided it was maybe time for a domain name. Unfortunately, all variations of “digitalboy” is taken. I tried Web 2.0 tricks like digit.alboy.com or digi.talboy.com and many other variations thereof; however, it all seemed clunky.

One night, an idea popped into my head to try ramblin.gs. After confirming that .gs is indeed a valid top level domain [for the South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, natch], I quickly tried to register the domain. However, someone beat me to it. [The website is some sort of Reddit/Digg clone]. Irritated, I tried the aforementioned Web 2.0 tricks, and found that the obvious ones (ram.blin.gs and ramb.lin.gs) were also taken. Disheartened, I wracked my brain trying to think of some variations of the word “ramblings” that would make a good domain. Some candidates where iRamblin.gs, wramblin.gs, bramblin.gs, and even babblin.gs or bablin.gs. However, after some more thought and after consultating with Emily, I decided on r.amblin.gs. It is not as elegant as ramblin.gs, but it will have to do. Of course, all this could be for naught if I suddenly decide to stop blogging again. Thus, as a precaution, I only purchased the domain for one-year. You know, just in case.

So if you were kind enough to have added me to your blogroll in the past, I would greatly appreciate if you update the link to http://r.amblin.gs.

On a side note, I also picked up the domain dumplin.gs. It was too good to past up.

Categories: Site Maintenance
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

