Home > 1-Minute Reviews, Weekend Update > The In-Law Weekend

The In-Law Weekend

Emily’s parents made an unscheduled visit this weekend to give Emily a break. As I previously mentioned, it is nice to have help with Esmé. It also gave us a chance to watch Harry Potter’s latest movie on Saturday night. I don’t have much to say about it, really. Those kids have certainly grown up. I do find it strange, however, that there is no modern technology in the Potter series. No cellphones, internet, or even computers. What made me think about this was Harry’s glasses. I kept thinking, “why doesn’t he get LASIK surgery?” And I find it hard to believe there’s no hanky-panky going on at Hortwags. I think a scene with Hermione and a bottle of Corona [and ending up with Ron getting to second base] wouldn’t be too much of a stretch for the imagination.

Hermione Gets Loaded

I also read the final dozen pages – and epilogue – of the last book. [I’m not going to reveal plot spoilers, but I will discuss my opinion on the ending. So, if you don’t even want to take the chance that I might give something away, stop reading now].

… I thought it was lame. I am not and never was a big fan of the books, but I found it more annoying than the cliffhanger Sopranos ending. The consequence of Rowling’s ending is going to be an infinite number of noncanonical – and perhaps even some sanctioned – books chroniciling Harry’s (mis)adventures in the intervening years between the ending and the epilogue, in addition to the infinite number of stories about Harry’s and/or his children’s (mis)adventures after the epilogue. Personally, it would have been better if Rowling had killed off her main character and closed the book [no pun intended] on the thing. Now, there’s always going to be that temptation for an 8th book, or a spin-off, or something lame. [Just think about the number of Star Wars books in print, and the number of Foundation and Jason Bourne novels written after Asimov’s and Ludlum’s death].

Anyway, I digress.

The weekend went well. Emily, her father, and myself managed to install a ceiling fan in the living room. [It was quite the struggle], and we spent the rest of the time fawning over Esmé. Yes, she’s six-weeks-old and already incredibly spoiled.

On Sunday, Emily took Esmé and went home with her parents to spend a few days at the Country Manor. I miss them both, but it is good for Emily to spend some time away from our house after being cooped up for so long in it, and it will also give a few of her relatives to finally meet Esmé. I have work to keep me busy [and a laundry list of chores to do around the house], but I sure do miss that brown eyed baby of mine.

Esmé is ready for her closeup

  1. Kyle
    July 31, 2007 at 4:23 am

    hey emma, i’m so happy that you’ve had a baby, but why did you have one at such a yong age? and is it true that you did?

  2. August 6, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    can i ask who are u married to

  3. August 6, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    erm its anna agen hi emma witch one did u mostly get along with in the harry potter film you played in wrtie bk to em on annancara@hotmail.co.uk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

