Home > 1-Minute Reviews, Esmé, General Chatter > A Real Blog Post

A Real Blog Post

It has been some time since I actually wrote anything, so I am going to try and post something more substantive today than just a link to some article or website I found on Digg. I will start by saying that I am exhausted. I have been off from work since last Wednesday, and I think I’m more tired staying home than if I went to work. Emily and I are counting down the days until Esmé sleeps through the night [most everyone puts it at 2 to 3 months]. I only have the chance to write this because she’s sleeping at the moment. [It’s a race against the clock as she will wake anytime now for her 11-1 a.m. feeding]. What has been making things worst is that it seems that Esmé has spent the past two days crying. We took her to a midday showing of Transformers on Friday, and she hasn’t stopped crying since. It’s like she’s punishing us. [Not to worry, there were only six people in the theater (including ourselves), and Esmé slept through the entire thing]. So, yes, in case you didn’t already know, there is nothing more exhausting and overwhelming than having a baby that will not stop crying. And it’s not that you’re annoyed and upset that the baby is crying. You’re just worried because you can’t seem to make her stop. I keep thinking to myself that, hey, at least her lungs are in good working order.

 

Other than the recent bout of crying [and a case of baby acne], everything else is going great. Esmé is growing like a weed, and she’s just awesome. I think I’ve said this before, but there’s nothing I enjoy more than holding her when she’s sleeping. Emily is slowly adjusting to motherhood. She gets the brunt of the overwhelmingness and exhaustion. I sort of get a break because I am still going to work. I do what I can to help her out, and try to keep up with the household chores, but sometimes I feel like I’m not doing enough to help out.

 

I guess there’s really not much else going on. One of these days I will write about the pressures society puts on mothers to breastfeed their babies at all costs, and how this can adversely affect a new mother. Also, the Transformers was a fun movie. You should go see it for the cool CGI. It’s freaking awesome. For the second and third sequels (yes, they’re making two more) there should be more robots and less humans. I want to see Omega Supreme and Metroplex in the next movies.

 

And, don’t ever watch Logan’s Run. That movie is terrible.

 

And because there’s not enough pictures of Esmé on this blog . . .

 
Esme Lives!

  1. Ned Beatty
    July 8, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Look at those eyes! What a cutie.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

