Home > iPod, News of Note > The Obligatory iPhone* Post

The Obligatory iPhone* Post

I would be remiss not to mention the iPhone today, the day of its release. Of course, there has been an overabundance of news coverage, so there is nothing left to say. I still drool over the phone, but even if we just didn’t have a baby, I’m not sure I would want to spend $599 for an iPhone, especially a first generation iPhone**. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure the phone is worth its money, and I am certain it will be/is awesome. But, at the same time, I can’t help but think that there is going to be a 2nd, 3rd, 4th, ad nauseum generation of the iPhone in the coming years. Not to mention that there are persistent rumours that Apple will release a “lower end” version eventually.

From all the iPhone hype in the past week, I thought one was especially notable. It didn’t get any coverage [of which I’m aware] in the “mainstream” media, although the tech blogs seemed to have picked it up. In a rare company-wide meeting yesterday [June 28], Jobs announced that “all full-time Apple employees in the US and part-time employees who have been there for a year will be getting an iPhone at the end of July. Multiple sources have told me that they believe this includes retail employees” [Via Ars Technica].

Now, if you’re a highly paid Software Engineer at Apple, this is just another nice perk, but think about the minimum wage slaves at the retail stores getting a free iPhone. [I read somewhere that it will be the 8GB, $599, iPhone].

Now, that is a nice “thank you” from a company to its employees.

One last thing, the Ars Technica to which I linked above¬†mentions that Apple is working on OSX for “some iPods”. I wonder if this is a foreshadowing of a future touchscreen/widescreen iPod.

* This WordPress theme insists on making the lowercase “i” in “iPhone” into a capital “I” in the title.

** I did, however, recently take advantage of Verizon’s “new every two” program and bought myself an LG eNV.

Categories: iPod, News of Note
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

