Lazy Busy

It was a lazy, yet busy weekend.

 

On Friday, we stayed in and watched The Descent. A Scottish horror movie set in the Appalachian Mountains in North Carolina.  It was a fairly entertaining movie. Claustrophobic to be sure, and a very slow build up to the very bloody last 30-minutes.  I will simply say that neither my lovely wife nor I will ever, ever, ever go spelunking after watching this movie. [1-Minute Review #1]

 

We spent Saturday lounging around before heading off for dinner and a movie with another couple. We watched Blades of Glory, which like other [comedic] Will Ferrell movies, is stupid funny [that’s a good thing in my book]. It certainly will not get any praise from the art-film cognoscenti, but the movie isn’t exactly aiming for the high-brow film viewer. You can arguably say that Blades of Glory [Will Ferrell and ice skating!] is the sequel to Talladega Nights [Will Ferrell and NASCAR!], and that it takes the latent homoerotocism of Cal Naughton Jr. and Ricky Bobby to the next level. [1-Minute Review #2].

 

On Sunday, my lovely wife and I executed our plan to give Esmé a nursery. With the help of two hired-hands, we rearranged the house. [We would rather pay strangers than have to ask our friends to help move. I mean, seriously, does anybody like helping somebody else move? And our house has some wicked stairs (and heavy furniture)] . Now, the living room is also the TV room and the previous TV room is part sitting room, part office, albeit a very large, executive-like office. I feel important sitting in it. All its missing is a couple of executive assistants to keep out the riff-raff. All in all, we are happy with the new arrangement. Our under utilized living room will now be well used, Esmé gets her nursery, and I still have a cave in which to hide.

 

Coincedentally, my horoscope for yesterday said:

Your home should be your refuge from the world — work on making it cozier today.

Like I previously wrote, I don’t believe in that stuff, but that’s just a bit freaky.

We ended the weekend by watching Annie Hall and An American Haunting. Well, my lovely wife watched Annie Hall while I hid in my new cave. We did watch An American Haunting together, and let me tell you, that is one stupid movie. [1-Minute Review #3]. My lovely wife, on the other hand, greatly enjoyed Annie Hall [and agrees with me about An American Haunting]. I must now find the time to watch Annie Hall [and Hannah and Her Sisters, and Manhattan, and Crimes and Misdemeanors].

 

So … That’s our weekend. In a nutshell.

  1. Random
    April 2, 2007 at 6:23 am

    In keeping with your theme, shouldn’t you identify your child to be as “child to be” rather than use an actual name? By the way, I hope you enjoyed movies and dinner with friends. It will be the last time for both until 2025.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

