Home > General Chatter > Darn You WordPress. Darn You and the Horse On Which You Ride

Darn You WordPress. Darn You and the Horse On Which You Ride

August 1, 2006

It can’t be a good omen that only after two days of using WordPress, I am already frustrated by its limitations. OK. Limitation. I want the ability to customize the template you choose. I like this template a lot, but I notice some differences between IE/Firefox, which is only slightly bothersome (By the way, this template looks better on Firefox). The main issue is that the blog title runs into the header art, and so both become illegible (because the author of the template decided to make the text the same freakin’ color as the header art). I could shorten the blog title, but I like my title. I could choose a different template, but from the handful WordPress offers, only this includes everyhing I need/want/like. My only other option is to host the blog on my own server, but – withouth paying a monthly fee – I do not have access to a PHP/MySQL environment.

The WordPress FAQ states “we don’t want people to have to look at HTML and CSS code, which is antithetical to the purpose of WordPress.com”. Fine, but it also is very limiting. One would think WordPress could think of a way for users to edit templates without having to mess with HTML/CSS.

Categories: General Chatter
